NPP's Conrad Sangma set to form non-Congress govt in Meghalaya with BJP

National People`s Party (NPP) president Conrad K Sangma is all set to form a non-Congress government in Meghalaya with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) also being a part of it. Sangma cobbled together a five-party alliance with an independent MLA, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the United Democratic Party (UDP), the People's Democratic Front (PDF), and the Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP), edging out the Congress.
NPP came out as the second largest party with 19 seats and Congress which had emerged as the single-largest party with 21 seats in the elections held on Saturday, 3rd March 2018. 

Then after NPP and BJP's defeat, the BJP on Saturday had suggested that the NPP and UDP enter into an alignment to form a "non-Congress government" in the state.

Till Sunday afternoon, the coalition was claiming the support of 29 MLAs however the numbers grew by the evening with six MLAs of the United Democratic Front (UDF) as well as two from the Hill State Socialist Democratic Party ( HSPDP) and two BJP legislators.

The coalition has 34 members, two more than the number needed to cross the halfway mark in the 60-member assembly.

NPP president Conrad K Sangma is scheduled to take oath on March 6.

Speaking to reporters, Sarma stated that there would be no deputy chief minister for the state. The oath-taking ceremony would take place on March 6, he added.

"Next two to three days are very crucial since the Assembly term will culminate on March 7. Running a coalition government is never easy, but I am confident that the MLAs who are with us are very committed to the state and people, and will work towards their development," Conrad Sangma said.


"We have submitted a letter of support of 34 legislators to Governor Ganga Prasad and staked claimed to form the new government," Conrad Sangma told media as he emerged from Raj Bhavan.

As per media reports, the oath-taking ceremony is likely to take place on 6th March at 10.30 am.

Conrad, 40, is a former Meghalaya chief minister and Lok Sabha speaker.

Here's the 34 seats allignment
👉NPP - 19seats
👉UDP - 6seats
👉PDF - 4seats
👉HSPDP - 2seats
👉BJP - 2seats
👉Independent - 1seat

You May Also Like